Sound Scene Express

Best of 2017 Rock Awards Line-Up

soundsceneexpress January 15, 2018 No Comments on Best of 2017 Rock Awards Line-Up

Best of 2017 Rock Awards
February 17, 2017

Sound Scene Express is proud to announce our 3rd annual “Best of Rock Awards” for 2017. We feel like we have curated our best line-up yet, bringing you some of the hottest Pittsburgh musicians of 2017. The show will be held Saturday, February 17th at Spirit in Lawrenceville. This year we were able to snag Wreck Loose, Starship Mantis, Honey, Kahone Concept, and Kayla Schureman. The event will be hosted by Pittsburgh music blogger and the star of HughShows TV, Hugh Twyman!

Awards will be handed out in the categories of Best Rock/Pop Album, Best Alternative Album, Best EP, and Best Single, as chosen by SSE staff. Fans, however, can vote now for Best Music Video, Best Music Series, Best Local Music Festival, and Breakout Band. Fans will also be able to vote for their favorite rock photo taken by the SSE staff on the day of the show.

It was such a strong year for local music that narrowing down these categories was very tough. You can support your favorites, and make your voice heard, by voting here:

Doors open at 7:00 PM. Tickets are $10, and can be bought at the door or reserved in advance by emailing This event is 21+. Check out the Facebook event page as well.

Hope to see you there!

8:00-8:30 Kayla Schureman
8:45-9:15 Kahone Concept
9:30-10:15 Honey
10:30-11:15 Starship Mantis
11:30-12:30 Wreck Loose

(In alphabetical order)
Best Rock/Pop Album:
-Bindley Hardware Company, “Ever Satisfactory”
-The Buckle Downs, “Hard Truths”
-Honey, “Mock Pop”
-Kayla Schureman, “Kiss the Ground”
-Paddy the Wanderer, “Facts for Whatever”
-The Velcro Shoes, “All That You Are”
-Wreck Loose, “OK, Wreck Loose”

Best Alternative Album:
-Action Camp, “Action Camp”
-Ancient History, “Good Friend Electrical”
-Beauty Slap, “Thunderfunk Machine”
-Spish, “Building a Family”
-Chalk Dinosaur, “Chalk Dinosaur and Friends”
-Side Eye, “La Vague”

Best EP:
-The Dark Lines, “Future Self”
-Grand Prismatic, “Archaea”
-Kahone Concept, “Towers”
-Lofi Delphi, “Tilt”
-Molly Alphabet, “Traces”
-NORM, “Amusement”

Best Single
-Buffalo Rose, “The Last One”
-Emerson Jay, “Alright”
-Essential Machine, “The Outsider”
-Slugss, “Flight Chief”
-SPISH, “Waxed”
-The Telephone Line, “Caving In”



Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Leave A Response